University of Wisconsin–Madison

Economics for the real world

Deep historical roots.

The Department of Agricultural and Applied Economics at the University of Wisconsin-Madison was the first such specialized department in the world. Growing from its original focus on issues of land, forests and farm management, the department is continually evolving to address the needs of students, the state of Wisconsin, the nation, and the world.

Ready for the future.

With research, teaching, and outreach focused on environmental and resource economics, agricultural economics, international development, and community economic development, our faculty’s work addresses some of the world’s most pressing current problems. As one of the top departments in the country, the future of AAE is brighter than ever.

AAE Job Market Candidates

We invite you to learn more about our nine Ph.D. job candidates who are available for employment in 2018.

1-Year Master's in Resource & Energy Demand Analysis

We are now accepting applications for our accelerated master’s degree in Resource & Energy Demand Analysis (REDA). Apply by January 15th to be considered for a scholarship. All applications are due by March 31st.

IN THE NEWS

AAE Professor Brian Gould worries about the effects of major changes to NAFTA. With nearly 50% of the state's dairy exports headed to Canada and Mexico, the loss of those markets could be devastating.

cows in milking parlor

EVENTS

  • Department Seminar
    Friday, February 2, 2018
    Dave Donaldson, MIT
    12:00pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)
    Tuesday, February 27, 2018
    Simon Quinn, Oxford University
    12:00pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)
    Friday, March 2, 2018
    Jessica Hoel, Colorado College
    12:00pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)
    Friday, March 9, 2018
    Zoë Plakias, Ohio State University
    12:00pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)
    Friday, March 16, 2018
    Loren Brandt, University of Toronto
    12:00pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)
    Friday, April 6, 2018
    Jeremy Weber, University of Pittsburgh
    12:00pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)
    Friday, April 20, 2018
    Chris Udry, Northwestern University
    2:00pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)
    Friday, May 4, 2018
    Fernando Aragon, Simon Fraser University
    12:00pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)
  • Development Economics Workshop
    Thursday, February 8, 2018
    Leah Lakdawala, Michigan State University
    3:45pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)
    Thursday, February 22, 2018
    Jeff Michler, University of Saskatchewan
    3:45pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)
    Thursday, March 8, 2018
    Paul Dower, University of Wisconsin - Madison
    3:45pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)
    Thursday, March 15, 2018
    Scott Gehlbach, University of Wisconsin - Madison
    3:45pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)
    Thursday, March 22, 2018
    Emilia Tjernström, University of Wisconsin - Madison
    3:45pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)
    Thursday, April 5, 2018
    Po Yin Wong, Norwegian School of Economics
    3:45pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)
    Thursday, April 12, 2018
    Jeremy Foltz, University of Wisconsin - Madison
    3:45pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)
    Thursday, May 3, 2018
    Esteban J. Quiñones, University of Wisconsin - Madison
    3:45pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)
  • Applied Economics Workshop
    Wednesday, January 24, 2018
    Jordan van Rijn, University of Wisconsin - Madison
    12:00pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)
    Wednesday, January 31, 2018
    Edward Frees, University of Wisconsin - Madison
    12:00pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)
    Wednesday, February 28, 2018
    Stephen Kane
    12:00pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)
    Wednesday, March 7, 2018
    Christopher Sullivan, University of Wisconsin - Madison
    12:00pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)
    Wednesday, April 4, 2018
    Brent Hueth, University of Wisconsin - Madison
    12:00pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)
    Wednesday, April 11, 2018
    Sarah Johnston, University of Wisconsin - Madison
    12:00pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)
    Wednesday, April 18, 2018
    Claudia Persico
    12:00pm Taylor-Hibbard Seminar Room (Rm103)

AAE Events

CONNECT WITH US